Home > Uncategorized > OMG FUNBLOG LOL

OMG FUNBLOG LOL

Yar.

I have a long two days ahead of me at work. I won’t get too much into it, just to say that it’s going to probably be our two busiest days of the season. I don’t want to say I’m dreading it necessarily, just that I know there’s going to be at least a couple figurative headaches induced. I’m hoping it’ll at least make the days go by quickly and get me to the weekend that much faster. Not that I have any big plans, but I do have the place to myself. I know what you’re thinking – DONKEY SHOW! – but no. Just relaxing.

INTERLUDE – A MOMENT WITH JUSTIN AND KEVIN
Justin L: I want it on the record that I am prepared to turn tricks for money to buy a car.
Its Marshall YAY: Can I…can I spit in your face afterwards?
Justin L: For extra $25, si.
Its Marshall YAY: $25? Then let me spit in your face AND pull your hair.
Justin L: $45
Justin L: My milkshake brings all the boys to the yard…
Its Marshall YAY: I’ll bring sexy with the back of my hand if you keep being so unreasonable

I’ve done something crazy and actually been doing stuff like buying books and watching movies lately. I figured it was about time, especially with the latter since I’m still paying for the Netflix “three-at-a-time” plan while watching at a “three-in-two-months” pace. I finally watched Lonesome Jim after having it sit on top of my DVD player for nearly two full months. I can’t recommend the movie enough, and good Lord, Mark Boone Junior needs to be in more films. I threw the movie on my queue based on a loose recommendation, and fully expected to be annoyed by it from the featurette they were showing ad nauseum this past Summer on IFC. I was pleasantly surprised, however. The film is wonderful, and directed by Steve Buscemi to boot. See it.

I also saw Superman Returns. I didn’t nearly dislike it as much as other people I know did. In particular I really liked Kevin Spacey (who admittedly I’m a total mark for) as Luthor, though I absolutely hated the fact that they kept some of the more comedic aspects of the character from the first two Superman films intact. I admire that they wanted to keep in line with the first two films as a tribute to Reeves and Donner, but I still wish they had pressed the reset button on the franchise and brought in the corporate wolf in sheep’s clothing Lex Luthor that appears in the Post-Crisis Superman books. There’s something else that really annoyed me, but I won’t get into it for the sake of the handful of people out there who still haven’t seen it. Though by now, I think I’m the only loser who hasn’t hadn’t.

I also watched disc 1 of HBO’s Rome Season 1, which contained the first two episodes. The pilot was good but nothing to cream your jeans over, however the second episode was so good that I’m pissed at Netflix for not having a Distribution Center around the corner from my house. Only one of six discs watched so far, but what little I’ve seen is absolutely fantastic. It’s also good to see “Carnivale” composer Jeff Beal getting more work, even if his opening theme for “Rome” is a TOTAL RIP-OFF of the “Carnivale” theme. Maeve (mourningdove) will know exactly what I’m talking about.

BOOKS. I finally finished Dress Your Family in Corduroy and Denim by David Sedaris and enjoyed the second half much more than I did the first half, and as a whole enjoyed it slightly less than Me Talk Pretty One Day. I wish I could get paid money for talking about living with my lover in France, but short stories about donkey punching don’t sell as easily as you’d think they would.

I followed that with Bill Maher’s New Rules, which is a good coffee table book. If you’ve seen most or all of the episodes of “Real Time” on HBO then you probably won’t get much out of it. I haven’t, and there were some that were particularly fucking hilarious. There were more than a few “Rules” that I was tempted to post as LJ entries, but I didn’t want to be one of those guys.

I also purchased Good Omens by Neil Gaiman & Terry Pratchett. I’ve been meaning to get more into Pratchett for years, as the only book I’ve read of his was Small Gods which was absolutely fantastic and, without question, one of my favorite books period. It’s worth noting that Small Gods is one of only two or three books that I’ve read more than once. I’m eagerly (re: sarcastically) awaiting the dorkier of dorks on my friends list to start going “oh my God, no way, you have to read blah blah blah.” The only Gaiman works I’m familiar with are his graphic novels. As a sidenote, I also have American Gods waiting to be read, though some bitch had to go and set my expectations really low. Maybe that’s a good thing, though. I might actually end up thanking Renee instead of calling her nasty names.

I also bought Game of Shadows just so I’d have it. Hating Barry Bonds is so much fun! And easy!

Since February or March, I’ve purchased all but four Ring of Honor DVDs for shows taped in 2006. How pathetic is that? I mean, being a wrestling fan is pathetic enough, but to spend THAT MUCH MONEY on it? Thank God for 3-for-1 and 25% off sales, as well as the frequency with which ROHwrestling.com puts them on. Despite all this, I have more money in my bank account right now than I’ve had in years…yes folks, I’m finally at FOUR FIGURES. For a couple days, anyway.

OPEN CALL FOR MUSIC RELEASED IN THE PAST YEAR. It occurred to me the other day that over the past year, I haven’t stumbled across any albums that I thoroughly enjoyed with the exception of Dylan’s “Modern Times,” Johnny Cash’s “American V” and “Personal File,” and The Pipettes’ “We Are the Pipettes” (thanks spf566). I’ve been really slipping in the past few months in terms of actually enjoying music, and I think it’s making me a bad person or something. Anything that I listen to lately is at least a few years old, or at least performed by old (and in one case dead) men. It’s making me feel out of touch and overall unappreciative of some potentially great stuff out there. So yeah, out with the suggestions.

Sally, so help me God, if you even dream of typing the words “Justin Timberlake” you better wake up and apologize.

…that’ll be all.

Categories: Uncategorized Tags:
  1. January 11, 2007 at 1:46 pm

    Don’t worry, I *still* have not seen Superman Returns.

    Good Omens is pretty pretty pretty funny while American Gods is the best heist story I’ve read since Neuromancer.

    Funny thing about Rome… my Dad absolutely loves it. I got into it too though not in such a way I plan to watch every episode. Anyhow, last night we were talking about Rome and he forgot the season finale. I thought that was amusing epecially considering you just mentioned it.

    The Decemberists Crane Wife was very good.

    • January 11, 2007 at 9:55 pm

      “Don’t worry, I *still* have not seen Superman Returns.”

      Welcome to the Cool Kids table.

      I’ve got “The Crane Wife” at home in my iTunes shopping cart. As soon as I saw you mention that, I nearly slapped my forehead, since it’s one of those albums I’ve been meaning to buy from the day it came out and kept forgetting.

      • January 11, 2007 at 10:45 pm

        I feel so special!
        As a note, the new Dresden Dolls album is pretty keen.

  2. January 11, 2007 at 2:00 pm

    Gaiman: I have problems with Gaiman’s prose work, because two of his best books have been done better by other people. King Rat by China Miéville does the whole semi-hidden section of London far better than Neverwhere and Coraline pales in comparison to Clive Barker’s Thief of Always.

    Music: Scott Walker’s The Drift. Yes, Walker is 63 now, but this album is absolutely incredible. I can’t even begin to describe it, so I’ll just direct you to the Wiki site that has links to reviews and such. http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/The_Drift
    If you like The Dresden Dolls, their second proper album came out this year. It’s decent, though I’ve realised that I prefer seeing them perform.
    The Decemberists have a new album out as well, though you’ve probably heard it. If not, it’s a lot more prog-influenced than their others.

  3. January 11, 2007 at 3:48 pm

    I feel like you may like American Gods better than Good Omens. Both are good, but American Gods may have more Marshall things to talk about.

    But it’s been years since I’ve read either, so maybe I’m just talking CRAZY

    • January 11, 2007 at 3:49 pm

      (And I seem to remember it was. I wasn’t a fan of the first episode of Rome, so I never watched the rest)

    • January 11, 2007 at 5:32 pm

      I liked American Gods more than Good Omens. Terry Pratchett’s sense of humor is just a little more British than I can handle and his prose is a little stiffer than I enjoy.

      Besides, Shadow was too cool in American Gods. And it was a heist novel! I love heist novels hiding in various sci-fi/fantasy genres!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

