Home > Uncategorized > Happy Halloween, you posers!

Happy Halloween, you posers!

I passed out on the couch last night while watching “Six Feet Under” on Bravo. Between that, “Heroes,” and “Studio 60” I’m finding absolutely no time to watch RAW on Monday Nights. Last night I didn’t even flip over once.

“Heroes” is a much better lead-in for “Friday Night Lights” than it is for “Studio 60.” Not sure exactly why it works, but it does. Unfortunately it’s going back on Tuesdays, and will probably get the axe within a few weeks. Which is a shame, because it’s an AWESOME AWESOME SHOW THAT YOU SHOULD BE WATCHING.

Today’s Halloween. I’m dreading going into work today and seeing what those kooky kids have dreamt up for costumes. Well, it’s a weekday, so at least we won’t see six hundred giggling c***s who think their “Slutty ______” costume is painfully clever.

I don’t know if we even have candy in the house. I was thinking of stopping by after work to pick some up, but we only get about five or ten trick-or-treaters on average each year. I want to blame it on the media making parents so freaking paranoid that they’re afraid to let their kids go trick-or-treating even if they accompany them, but thinking on it further there might be fewer children in my neighborhood than I thought. I was always under the impression there were more kids around due to the fact that my immediate neighbors on either side have kids, but I just realized that those are the only two houses on my blocks that even have kids inside them. So yeah, I’m going to sit here and say I won’t bother, but I know that later on I’ll still use the holiday as an excuse to buy candy which I’ll primarily end up eating.

Can you tell I’m grasping for things to write about? Okay, good. You’ll get more of that when I get home.

Until then, here’s The Roots and Jill Scott perform a re-arrangement of “You Got Me” from “Things Fall Apart.” Freaking AMAZING.

I bought “Dave Chappelle’s Block Party” two weekends ago and saw her performance. I’m about three-quarters of the way through the DVD. As pretentious as it’s going to sound, acts like her, The Roots, Mos Def, Dead Prez, Erykah Badu, and others make everyone in current mainstream hip-hop look like such fucking amateurs it’s ridiculous.

On a semi-related note, if anyone’s listened to The Roots’ “Game Theory” yet and has a recommendation as to whether to buy or pass, I’m all ears.

More later…

Categories: Uncategorized Tags: ,
  1. October 31, 2006 at 2:01 pm

    I’ve heard fleeting rumors that Studio 60 is on the chop block too, which is strange considering its an Aaron Sorkin show, and there’s no way NBC would cancel that in the first season if they ever wanted to do work with them again.

    • October 31, 2006 at 4:49 pm

      They might not consider him to be a hot enough commodity for that to be a concern. Though I’m a fan of his, beyond the first few seasons of “West Wing” there’s nothing that would terribly impress a network exec. For instance there was “Sports Night,” which while critically acclaimed completely tanked in the ratings. “West Wing” was very popular early in its run, but the last couple seasons the ratings dropped substantially and it got the shuffle treatment as far as its timeslot’s concerned.

      Similarly, “Studio 60” got some big ratings for the series premiere, but dropped off dramatically in the second week and subsequently has received lower and lower ratings. I read that about “Studio 60” too. It’s a shame, but that’s network television for you.

      • October 31, 2006 at 5:29 pm

        Except that Aaron Sorkin and his buddy really weren’t involved with the last few seasons of the West Wing because they were developing Studio 60. For NBC.

        I hate Network television.

      • October 31, 2006 at 5:53 pm

        It’s worth noting that Sorkin was actually taken off “West Wing” after the fourth season because of scripts coming in late and other problems.

      • October 31, 2006 at 5:59 pm

        He does like his pot. And Kristen Chennoworth.

  2. October 31, 2006 at 6:11 pm

    That video is fucking amazing. I haven’t seen Dave Chappelle’s block party yet, but becasue of your video I watched a bunch of her stuff ( I didn’t know Jill Scott, but I do know the rest of the people on that list. Word). Thanks for a new love.

    • November 1, 2006 at 5:08 am

      You’re very welcome!

      She’s seriously amazing, and is one of those for whom in-studio production doesn’t do any justice.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

