Home > Uncategorized > Silva destroys Franklin and I got paid! Good past few days!

Silva destroys Franklin and I got paid! Good past few days!

One of you (Harm) will find the first part of this entry familiar since I more or less messaged it to you about six minutes ago. Randomness abound in this entry.

“YOU KNOW WHAT’D BE DIFFERENT AND, UH, INTERESTING…WHEN THE FIGHT STARTS, JUST DROP TO ONE KNEE. THEN HE CAN’T KICK YOU, YOU KNOW?”
Last Saturday, Anderson Silva won the UFC Middleweight Title by destroying Rich Franklin in under three minutes. You can watch the video HERE while it’s still up (props to Dan Hall for pointing me in the general direction of it). After the fight, Franklin said he lost because “I underestimated his clinch.”

“I underestimated his clinch”?!

Firstly, who the Hell even says shit like that? Secondly, Franklin did actually watch tapes of Silva before the fight, right? And thirdly, Silva’s background is in Muay Thai! Seriously, was he hoping that Silva slept through those portions of his training or something?

I think the episode of “The Ultimate Fighter” a few weeks ago where he came off as a condescending moron was more indicative of his mindset than I thought. Franklin went into that fight cocky and totally unprepared, and he suffered the consequences. Seriously, see for yourself if the video’s still up when you read this. He totally looks like one of those “I know karate” wannabe tough guys that used to get fed to Gary Goodridge and his ilk in the early days of the UFC. Man. Just…man. Unbelievable.

MORE RANDOMNESS BECAUSE COHESION IS FOR SUCKERS:
IT’S A JEEP THING: I thought Dennis Green screaming “The Bears are who we thought they were” over and over again (see the previous entry) and bitch-slapping a microphone was the oddest sports-related item of the week. Turns out it’s not even the oddest one of the day, since Juan Uribe decided to go all Snoop Dogg and have his bodyguard shoot two dudes for being too close to his jeep. The Dugout has an excellent IM transcript between Uribe and Thome that you MUST read. Freaking hilarious.

TALKING POINT: Is there a more fun pseudo-alternative band from the 90s than the Gin Blossoms? Discuss.

WEIRD COMBINATION: I saw the tallest Psuedo-Goth kid ever today. Seriously, I think this kid was created using the combined DNA of Peter Murphy and Rober Wadlow. If you don’t know who those people are, go Google them. I’m too lazy to explain my poor pop culture references.

TAKIN’ IT TO THE STREETS: I FINALLY GOT PAID TODAY, YEAH YEAH YEAH DIRECT DEPOSIT IN THE HOUSE BANK. Time for me to buy that giant clock necklace I’ve always wanted. I was very tempted to order Chinese food tonight just to celebrate.

QUESTION THAT MAKES ME LOOK PATHETIC: I’m going to do a “Year-End Best of” wrestling awards thing just for my LJ because I’m a humongous dork. If I put up the option, would any of you participate in a “Reader’s Choice” type thing?

ANOTHER QUESTION -or- TAKIN’ IT TO THE STREETS PART 2: If you could punch any Doobie Brother in the face, why WOULDN’T it be Michael McDonald?

More later…

  1. October 18, 2006 at 3:15 am

    It’s been a really strange football season. Normally I expect to see the Vikings in court, but this year it’s been the Bungles. TO commited suicide, then took it back because he has 25 million reasons to live and btw, a man of his statue would never take his own life. The Aints are 5-1. The best player on Detroit was arrested today.

    And Matt Leinart’s tears are so salty and delicious!!

    I had a strange craving for Chinese food. I almost got some tonight as well.

    • October 18, 2006 at 3:18 am

      GREAT MINDS, Ellie. Great minds.

      I also like how before the season people were all like “all of a sudden you gotta watch out for the Cardinals!” Now those same people are like “all of a sudden Dennis Green is a fucking maniac!”

      It’s really not ironic, I just find that video of his meltdown hilarious.

      • October 18, 2006 at 3:21 am

        I know! I was watching Studio 60 and Barry called and told me to put the game on. I wasn’t planning on watching the Affirmative Action Bowl, but when I was told what was going on, I had to tune in.

        I heard the meltdown on the radio. Too bad the man is going to lose his job in January. Dallas might need a coach though… And a maniac is just what’s needed to make TO look sane.

      • October 18, 2006 at 3:24 am

        “Too bad the man is going to lose his job in January.” –> That’s going on his tombstone.

        I’m still mixed on Studio 60. And if I hear the phrase “this nation is divided” one more time, I’m going to divide Aaron Sorkin in a place most uncomfortable.

      • October 18, 2006 at 3:26 am

        The back of a volkswagen? It’s really not all that bad.

        As for Studio 60… the Parcells joke last night had me rolling.

      • October 18, 2006 at 3:29 am

        Mallrats reference – +2 Charisma

        Hey, how come the jokes told backstage on the fly are ten times funnier than the jokes on the make-pretend sketch show that’s supposed to be a total LOLlercoaster ride?

      • October 18, 2006 at 3:31 am

        I believe this is because Aaron Sorkin pays more attention to the backstage drama. Is it so wrong to want Bradley Whitford?

      • October 18, 2006 at 3:33 am

        If it’s wrong then I you don’t want to be right.

        That’s fine and dandy, but they made an effort to research politics for The West Wing. Why not research funny for THIS show?

      • October 18, 2006 at 3:35 am

        Probably because they are famous and can do whatever they want to?

      • October 18, 2006 at 3:35 am

        Their egos are as out of control as the number of comments going back and forth here.

      • October 18, 2006 at 3:37 am

        I think we should stop having comment sex.

      • October 18, 2006 at 3:38 am

        Another one of those “headaches”?

        Fine. God you’re frigid. I’m gonna start calling you Ellie “The Refrigerator” Perry.

      • October 18, 2006 at 3:40 am

        The douchebagery of that comment was infinate. I’m going to sleep. You can have the couch.

      • October 18, 2006 at 3:44 am

        FINE! I WANTED THE COUCH ANYWAY! I’M GOING TO FALL ASLEEP TO CARTOONS TONIGHT!

      • October 18, 2006 at 4:14 pm

        Honey, you know, after a night of sleep, I’m willing to take you back.

      • October 18, 2006 at 10:02 pm

        Yeah, I slept on it too, and you were still a total bitch. But whatever, I’m desperate.

      • October 18, 2006 at 10:05 pm

        Well, you were the one that called me fat. I’d smack you in the lips, but unfortunately I too am desperate for late night conversation.

      • October 18, 2006 at 10:07 pm

        So, what, you’re turning my LiveJournal into an Online House of Lies now?

        I called you a tubby whore, not a fat whore. There’s a difference, and I was also pissed and already said “I’m sorry.” So that, like, automatically excuses it.

      • October 18, 2006 at 10:12 pm

        I love you. Take me back.

      • October 18, 2006 at 10:59 pm

        Have dinner promptly set at 8:00pm and I’ll think about it.

  2. October 18, 2006 at 3:45 pm

    To respond to many of these:

    -Anderson Silva was going to win simply because he has the last name “Silva”, which means he must have some of the Wanderlei Silva goodness in him.

    -Sadly, since Juan may be the victim of an extortion attempt here, the mantle of funniest thing goes back to Denny Green. Especially in light of his follow-up conference where he was trying to be subdued but looked like he might actually shoot fire from his eyes.

    -The Gin Blossoms played the 4th of July in the crappy Chicago suburb I grew up in a few years ago. My sister got the lead singer to record her outgoing answering machine message. That I believe sums up the career of the Gin Blossoms. Playing a park 30 miles from Chicago and recording outgoing greetings for 18 year olds on the 4th.

    -Of course I would, but I’m just going to vote either ROH things or Meng for everything.

    • October 18, 2006 at 10:03 pm

      Meng?! You’ll vote for Kamala and you’ll like it!

      • October 19, 2006 at 2:26 pm

        No way dude. Tongan Death Grip still beats all comers.

      • October 19, 2006 at 3:27 pm

        The Tongan Death Grip will always lose out to the “Have To Be Told By Handler To Roll Guy Onto His Back For A Pin.” Or as MMA guys call it the HTBTBHTRGOHBFAP.

        And they pronounce it as a word, too.

      • October 19, 2006 at 3:29 pm

        Of course they do. Then they all break each other’s arms for fun, and get excited when Antonio Inoki slaps them.

        *looks nervously for any MMA guys who might see this post*

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

