Home > Uncategorized > And here I thought I’d go to bed content…

And here I thought I’d go to bed content…

Unlike other sports fans, I try not to inject myself into a team (i.e. using the term “we” when referring to a sports franchise) and don’t have a “favorite” for every sport (OH MY GOD SHOOT ME I MUST NOT ENJOY FOOTBALL). I like to think of myself as a casual sports fan, and I tend to laugh at the pedestal that self-professed super-fans put themselves and their team on just because they’re blindly loyal to a collection of athletes, managers, coaches and office staff. There are people who can’t even remain loyal to friends, families, and lovers that won’t hesitate to call other fans “traitors” or “front-runners.” I’ve withstood being called a front-runner for being a fan of the team who is closest to me in terms of geographic location without being out-of-state or the Mets, and who had a farm team in Colonie for the majority of my childhood years. Having that personal connection to the team, there’s only one team whom I can say I’ve been a fan of my entire life – the New York Yankees.

That being said, considering what little patience I have for nonsense and despite the success they had in the late 90s, I’ve been asked to tolerate quite a bit. My entire life, I’ve overlooked George Steinbrenner’s ridiculous accusations and finger-pointing. I overlooked overpaying guys with no long-term upside who had passed their prime. I simply laughed when Alex Rodriguez listed being bi-racial among his reasons he was being targeted by fans (yeah, because us Yankee fans all HATE Derek Jeter). The list goes on and on. But through it all, I was an admitted Yankee fan (even if I myself got bored during their period of seeming dominance) and I honestly thought nothing could change that, and in that sense I was one of those fans who I tend to find so pathetic and irritating.

However, if there’s one thing that might cause me to consider renouncing my status as a Yankee fan, THIS is it.

I’ll get into more specifics as to why tomorrow.

More later…(and this time it’s not just a footer)

Categories: Uncategorized Tags:
  1. October 8, 2006 at 1:54 pm

    Highly recommended to you… Buster Oley’s Last Night of the Yankee Dynasty.

  2. October 8, 2006 at 3:33 pm

    I hear you on this one. You put what little record Pineilla(sp?) has up against Torre’s overall record, and it just doesn’t make sense to oust Torre and bring this other guy in. I think it’s a way to avoid putting blame on players who just aren’t good anymore. They’re relying too much on players who are past their prime.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

