Home > Uncategorized > Woooo-hoooooo!

Woooo-hoooooo!

Got some DVDs in the mail today!

ROH – Scramble Cage Melee (8/28/04)
Braintree, MA 8/28/04

– Alex Shelley vs. Jay Lethal, Samoa Joe vs. Homicide vs. CM Punk in a Three-Way Dance, and an insane 12-man Scramble Cage Melee match. I’ve been hearing quite a bit about the cage match for some time now, so that’ll probably the second DVD I watch (the first being War of the Wire II since it’s the most recent release).

ROH – Punk: The Final Chapter (8/13/05)
Chicago Ridge, IL 8/13/05

– Matt Sydal vs. Delirious vs. Alex Shelley vs. Nigel McGuiness in a Four Corner Survival Match, Samoa Joe & Jay Lethal vs. Low-Ki & Homicide (THAT should be awesome), BJ Whitmer & Jimmy Jacobs vs. James Gibson & Spanky for the ROH Tag Titles (Whitmer and Jacobs were an awesome team and pretty underrated amongst ROHbots), and CM Punk vs. Colt Cabana in a 2 out of 3 Falls match (which is Punk’s final match with ROH). I’ve heard this was a great card, and it looks tremendous on paper, so we’ll see. Also, anything with Low-Ki that I can get my hands on is worth the purchase.

ROH – War of the Wire II
Dayton, OH 7/28/06

– I was going to buy this one regardless of the card just to keep current, as it’s ROH’s latest release. Nigel McGuinness vs. Colt Cabana in an ROH Pure Title Match (Nigel and Cabana always seem to have really fun matches), Bryan Danielson vs. Homicide vs. Austin Aries vs. Delirious in a Four Corner Survival Match, Jay & Mark Briscoe vs. Roderick Strong & Jack Evans (who I think are a much more entertaining tandem than Aries & Strong – but that’s probably just me), and a No-Rope Barbed Wire Match with BJ Whitmer against Necro Butcher. Necro + Barbed Wire instead of Ropes = YAY.

Jeff Peterson Memorial Cup 2005
2-Disc Set
Tampa, FL 6/10/05 & 6/11/05

The 2005 installment of the annual two-night Cruiserweight Tournament that’s taken place every year since 2003. The tournament is in memory of former Floriday indy wrestler Jeff Peterson, who passed away in November 2002 from cancer at the age of 21 (which is scary because he was only a few months older than I was at the time). What’s even sadder is that he staged a brief comeback in the Spring of ’02 after they thought he had beaten leukemia, only to be re-admitted for treatments weeks later. What’s EVEN SADDER is that the other day I typoed and told someone I was getting the Scott Peterson Memorial Cup DVD. I looked up to see if there even was a Scott Peterson that wrestled, and there was (he was one of the original Southern Rockers with Steve Doll). Coincidentally, he ALSO passed away, due to injuries suffered in a motorcycle accident at the age of 31. Anyways, the tournament looks pretty decent, and includes Ricky Reyes, Jay Fury (who in the handful of matches I saw him in impressed me quite a bit), Matt Sydal (!), Tony Kozina, Jerrelle Clark (FIP regular who’s also had some exposure in TNA – “Mr. 630”), Petey Williams (the TNA guy who has the most ludicrous finisher in the history of the world), Vordell Walker, Tony Mamaluke (!!), Todd Sexton, Sonjay Dutt (meh), Delirious (!!! HA BA BA BA *clap clap clap-clap-clap*), Chris Sabin (zzzzzzz…), Fast Eddie, JIMMY RAAAAAAAAAVE (, ah?!), James Gibson (a.k.a. Jamie Knoble), and Mikey Batts.

I’ll probably end up giving my thoughts on all of them in brief synopses when I’m done. Hey, it’s something to keep me occupied at least until I start work again.

More later…

Categories: Uncategorized Tags:
  1. September 14, 2006 at 4:52 am

    I loved the scramble cage. That was so much fun. Much better than the tag team round robin challenge in the Lexington (MA) National Guard Sweatbox.

    Seriously, I got out of there and looked like I just went broadway with Punk.

    • September 14, 2006 at 8:02 pm

      You’re not the first person I’ve seen complain about that place. They don’t do shows there anymore, right?

      • September 14, 2006 at 8:43 pm

        Lex

        No, they don’t really have a home turf in Boston-area. I’ve been to shows in (deep breath) Wakefield, Cambridge, Braintree, Lexington and Framingham. They’ve also been in Dorchester and Revere, but I’d moved back to NY by then.

        Their site says that “Beating the Odds” was in Wakefield. I could swear it was Malden, but I’ve been wrong before. I know it was a high school as opposed to the armory they used to run in Wakefield. Then again, they’ve been wrong too. They say “Survival of the Fittest” was in Boston, but Dorchester is *not* Boston.

        IIRC, there’s some other promoter who keeps chasing them out of buildings.

        The armories in Wakefield and Cambridge are too small, Lexington has no ventilation, Dorechester’s sightlines are apparently all wrong… I guess they feel like the high schools make it sound bush league, but they’re really the right size, especially regional schools.

        Framingham State College wasn’t bad as you’ll see on “WotW I”, but I long for the day that they can just run at the whatever they call the Centrum now or the Tsongas in Lowell.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

