Home > Uncategorized > “Say whooooaaaa Mammy, whooooaaaa Mammy”

“Say whooooaaaa Mammy, whooooaaaa Mammy”

So I got ahold of an mp3 of “PJ and Rooster,” a track off Outkast’s upcoming album “Idlewild” (which also doubles as the soundtrack for the film of the same name). It’s interesting. That is, interesting enough for me to pre-order on iTunes (the album will be released August 22nd). The more I listen to the track, the more I find myself liking it. It’s a bit of a challenging listen at first, which is more than you can say for…well, any major label hip-hop released in recent years.

Maybe it’s me being sheltered, but this is the first time I know of anyone attempting to blend Ragtime and Pre-Swing Jazz with hip-hop. If this song is any indication, what could easily have become forced pretension instead sounds pretty organic, and has me wondering why nobody ever thought of this before. Well, that I’ve heard anyway. Maybe it’s the laziness of the music industry in general. I imagine it’s probably easier to just sign and record a guy who’s going to do nothing but copy whatever regional style’s about to be driven into the ground than even attempt something like this.

That’s what I like about Outkast, though – there’s a progression to their style that isn’t done just for the sake of progression, which you can’t say about most acts anymore (and that’s not just limited to hip-hop). And no, not everybody’s going to like it, but it makes for a far more interesting body of work than someone just trying to re-capture the lightning in a bottle produced with their first album (see: Nelly; The Strokes).

So, in 9 days, I’ll let you all know how it is. It’ll be fun to see the backlash from all the people that railed against Andre 3000’s half of “Speakerboxxx/The Love Below” but for some weird reason kept silent about it until “Hey Ya” broke out as the hit single. As for the “Idlewild” movie – I think I’ll avoid that for now.

Categories: Uncategorized Tags:
  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

