Home > Uncategorized > Sofia Coppola Booed at Cannes

Sofia Coppola Booed at Cannes

Sofia Coppola booed at Cannes?! I wondered why, and I read this (emphasis mine):

Movie-maker Sofia Coppola has defended her new period drama Marie-Antoinette after it was booed during a press screening at the Cannes Film Festival Tuesday night. Despite admitting the response was “disappointing,” Coppola insisted the Kirsten Dunst-starring movie was always going to provoke heated debate.

Kirsten Dunst as Marie-Antoinette. I hadn’t even heard of this movie until now, and I’M already booing. Speaking of Dunst, this was amusing:

Coppola was defended at the festival by the film’s stars Dunst, who also appeared in Coppola’s The Virgin Suicides in 1999, and British actor Steve Coogan. Dunst said, “I like the movie and I’m really proud.”

Of course she’s going to defend it, since she’s in it. But then I got to thinking…how awesome would it be if Dunst just said “you’re right. This film is absolute shit. I’d rather play Mary-Jane Watson in Spider-Man movies for the next twenty years than have been part of this dreck.”

For the record, I believe only two actors in history have ever gone in front of the press and/or talk show hosts (EDIT – I meant during the press tour for the film itself) and admitted a movie was awful. Most recently Ben Affleck for “Gigli,” and waaaay back in the day Bill Cosby actually came out and told people to avoid “Leonard Part 6” like the plague.

Also, I liked “Lost in Translation,” but Sofia Coppola was so God-awful in “The Godfather Part III” that I’ll always hold at least some disdain for her.

Categories: Uncategorized
  1. May 25, 2006 at 7:43 am

    plus she’s dating the lead singer of Phoenix who appeared in the movie and on the soundtrack for Lost in Translation.

    regardless, i love The Virgin Suicides and Lost in Translation and i don’t want to bash her movie yet until I see with my own eyes how misguided of an idea it is.

    • May 25, 2006 at 2:19 pm

      I really want to reserve judgment, believe me I do. But I can’t get past Kirsten Dunst playing Marie-Antoinette.

      FWIW, I liked The Virgin Suicides quite a bit myself but didn’t think Dunst was anything special in it.

      • May 25, 2006 at 6:44 pm

        No, she wasn’t. I’ll tell you what, though, she was special in Bring It On. hhehe

        there was a time when i loved that movie. seriously.

      • May 25, 2006 at 6:54 pm

        Because that movie helps us to realize that we all need to bring it on. All of us. Together.

        Jazz fingers.

  2. May 25, 2006 at 2:04 pm

    George Clooney over the past few years has repeatedly apologised for Batman & Robin.

    • May 25, 2006 at 2:08 pm

      But not while on the press tour specifically for that film is what I meant. That’s my bad, I should’ve clarified that point.

  3. May 25, 2006 at 5:34 pm

    Kristen Dunst is also nekkid in the movie.

    Just a random side note.

    • May 25, 2006 at 6:03 pm

      Oh boy, another example of “let’s get people to pay to see her naked” veiled with the old “it’s for the art” excuse.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

