Home > Uncategorized > A Tale of Two Warriors

A Tale of Two Warriors

About Warrior…
So in my profile I had a rhetorical question asking “who keeps booking this guy to speak at colleges?” This, of course, was in reference to my LJ post about Warrior’s most recent debacle at DePaul University (linkage). Ed rushed to the rescue (by rushed I mean IMed me after reading my profile because he was fucking bored) with the answer:

Ed: He’s one of the speakers for Young America’s Foundation.
Ed: YAF pays half the speakers fee, and through a student group use that as leverage to get funding from student governments to make the events happen.
Ed: Most of their speakers are much more sane, although he’s one of the cheaper ones. 🙂
Ed: Ben Stein is one of their pricier speakers.
Me: Ahhh.
Me: Now here’s another question.
Me: Why would they bother with Warrior (YAF)?
Me: Like, wouldn’t they want to DISTANCE themselves from someone so obviously unbalanced?
Ed: Some people in the conservative student movement think controversy is a good thing.
Ed: I suspect it may be that they’re so used to being in the minority, that they almost have a fetish for unpopular views.
Ed: I’d say it’s a matter of lost perspective.
Me: Definitely.

Definitely.

======================================

(kinda) About THE Warrior…
So today we had a going away party for someone who works on the West Coast for our office. I hadn’t met her before today, she seemed nice enough I guess. ANYWAYS, we’re all sitting there waiting for her to be brought down (I guess it was a surprise party or something). My phone starts beeping: I have a text message? But from WHOM?

Well, it’s Jill, a.k.a. THE WARRIOR. She text messages the following:
“Well! I went ass over tea kettle down the stairs at work! I am now at the doctor’s for my severe retardation and other injuries! My ass busted my umbrella and I broke my spirit.”

At this point, I laugh somewhat heartily (because c’mon, that’s damn funny). A co-worker, during which a lull in conversation occurred throughout the room, asked “what’s so funny?”

Me: “Oh, nothing. Just a friend of mine fell down the stairs at work and had to go to the Doctor.”

I got some of the most MORTIFIED looks I’ve ever received. I then explained that she was alright and it was the message itself that made me laugh. Though, to be honest, I’d laugh at someone who fell down stairs regardless.

It shall be duly noted that like a true Warrior, she shot through the walls of heartache and actually went back into work.

More later…

Categories: Uncategorized Tags:
  1. Anonymous
    April 8, 2006 at 1:50 am

    The people inviting that guy…

    I mean, I don’t think they have bad intentions. Presenting an alternative to politically correct orthodoxy, provoking a political debate on campus; these *could* be good things, but– Warrior’s just nuts, man. They need to put him out to pasture.

    – Ed.

  2. April 8, 2006 at 7:56 am

    http://www.somethingawful.com/articles.php?a=2790

    The Warrior also sued something awful a little while back. Check it out; makes for some funny reading.

    • April 8, 2006 at 10:24 pm

      Oh yeah, read that awhile back. I especially love the correspondence with Warrior’s “lawyer” (which I would love if he referred to as his “Lawior”).

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

